Another great initiative in Asia that @Agitos is making possible. Great work @paralympic_kz
10 February 2018 at 09:56 Reply
We're delighted with this news and are proud to have played our part in supporting the athletes make their interna…
02 February 2018 at 13:38 Reply

Related Post


View More >

IPC Governing Board elections conclude with three candidates from Asia successful

By : APC Media
Date : September 9, 2017

On the final day of the IPC General Assembly in Abu Dhabi, three candidates from Asia were elected to the Governing Board to serve as Members at Large.

Yamasushi Yamawaki from Japan and Mohammed Alhameli from UAE were the first two candidates to be confirmed in the first round of voting. They were joined by Sung Il Kim from Korea in the second round.

Earlier in the day, the IPC membership elected Andrew Parsons from Brazil as the new President to succeed Sir Philip Craven and Duane Kale from New Zealand as the Vice President.

President Majid Rashed commented:

I'd like to congratulate all the successful candidates but especially, of course, the three from our region. They are all very strong candidates and this was reflected in the fact that they all were successful in the first two rounds of voting. We look forward to working with all the Governing Board to ensure that the Paralympic movement goes from strength to strength in our region.

The complete IPC Governing Board is as follows:

  • Debra Alexander (ITU)
  • Mohammed Alhemeli (UAE)
  • Muffy Davis (USA)
  • Rita van Driel (NED)
  • Sung Il Kim (KOR)
  • Luca Pancalli (ITA)
  • Leonel da Rocha Pinto (African Paralympic Committee)
  • Tim Reddish (GBR)
  • Juan Pablo Salazar (COL)
  • Yasushi Yamawaki (JPN)

Image title